

NEWS RELEASE

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

#### CONTACT:

Samantha White Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 116 swhite@tafp.org

# TAFP installs 2015-2016 officers

THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS — The Texas Academy of Family Physicians installed the 2015-2016 officers during the 2015 Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in The Woodlands on Nov. 14.

### • President – Ajay Gupta, MD

Dr. Gupta is a partner with Jefferson Street Family Practice in Austin, Texas and is an associate professor of family medicine for the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston. He has served on the TAFP Board of Directors, TAFP Foundation Board, Finance Committee, Executive Committee, and as chair of the Commission on Health Care Services and Managed Care. He currently serves on the AAFP Commission on Finance and Insurance. He is also a member of the Texas Medical Association and the Travis County Medical Society. Gupta received his medical degree from UTHSCSA and completed his postgraduate medical training with the Corpus Christi Family Medicine Residency Program and Memorial Hospital.

# • President-elect – Tricia Elliott, MD

Dr. Elliott is the director of the University of Texas Medical Branch Family Medicine Residency Program in Galveston. She is an associate professor for UTMB's Department of Family Medicine and formerly served the department as vice chair for clinical affairs. She previously served as program director of the Baylor College of Medicine/Kelsey-Seybold Clinic Family Medicine Residency Program in Houston. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians and serves on AAFP's Commission on Education. Elliott received her medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch and completed a family medicine residency at Montefiore Medical Center.

Vice President – Javier "Jake" Margo, Jr., MD

Dr. Margo practices family medicine in his hometown of Rio Grande City, Texas. He also serves as president of both the TAFP Valley Chapter and the Hidalgo Starr County Medical Society. He is director of obstetrics and emergency medical services for the local county hospital where he works in the emergency department. Additionally, Margo practices in the hospital's rural clinic, two local nursing homes, and is the team physician for two high schools in the area. He is also a member of the Texas Medical Association's Border Health Caucus and Small District Caucus. Margo received his medical degree from Texas A&M College of Medicine and completed a residency with the John Peter Smith Family Practice Residency Program.

## • Treasurer – Janet Hurley, MD

Dr. Hurley is a physician at the Trinity Clinic in Whitehouse, Texas. She previously served as chair of TAFP's Commission on Health Care Services and Managed Care, Section on Leadership Development, and Section on the Medical Home. Hurley is also a member of both the Texas and American Medical Associations, the Smith County Medical Society, and the Christian Medical and Dental Society. Hurley was awarded her medical degree by the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine and completed her postgraduate training with the Family Practice Residency Program at the University of Texas Health Center at Tyler in Tyler, Texas.

### • Parliamentarian – Rebecca Hart, MD

Dr. Hart is a physician at South Shore Medical Center in League City, Texas, where she practices family medicine with a special interest in hormone replacement and women's health. She previously chaired TAFP's Commission on Academic Affairs and Commission on Continuing Professional Development. She previously served as TAFP's Harris County Chapter president, and recently completed a term on the American Academy of Family Physicians' Commission on Health of the Public and Science. She is a former director of two residency programs at the University of Texas at Houston and the University of Hawaii, as well as associate director for the San Jacinto Methodist Hospital Family Practice Residency Program. Hart received her medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern and completed a residency with the Baylor College of Medicine where she served as chief resident.

# Immediate Past President – Dale Ragle, MD

Dr. Ragle practices family medicine with the group Dallas Family Doctors in Dallas, Texas. During his tenure at TAFP, he has served on the TAFP Board of Directors, Executive Committee, Commission on Legislative and Public Affairs, Commission on Health Care Services and Managed Care, and the TAFP Foundation Board. He is also a member of the Texas Medical Association and the Dallas County Medical Society. Ragle received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, Texas, and completed his postgraduate training at the Baytown Family Medicine Residency Program affiliated with University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Houston.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.

- 30 -