

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Perdita Henry Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 136 <u>phenry@tafp.org</u>

Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, MD, FRCS, FAAFP, named Physician of the Year

DALLAS, TEXAS — Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, MD, FRCS, FAAFP, of San Antonio, Texas, has been awarded the highest honor among Texas family doctors by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. He was named Physician of the Year during the organization's 2016 Annual Session Primary Care Summit, in Dallas on Nov. 5. Each year, patients and physicians nominate extraordinary long-serving physicians and a panel of TAFP members chooses one as the Family Physician of the Year.

"As a family doctor, I am really proud to be in front of you and receiving this award," Kumar said. "When I see all these wonderful doctors in the audience, I am really humbled and honored to receive this award as Family Physician of the Year."

Originally from India, Kumar earned his medical degree from, Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad, India. After completing an internship at Osmania General Hospital, Hyderabad, India, he went on to complete a general surgery residency at Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. He would later immigrate to the United States and complete an additional residency in Family Medicine at UT Health Center at Tyler.

Kumar has served as president of TAFP, is the current Chair of the Healthcare Committee of San Antonio Mayor's Fitness Council, and is a member of the Mayor's Executive Committee. In addition to various leadership positions he is currently a professor of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center Medical School in San Antonio and continues to mentor the next generation of family medicine medical students and residents.

Criteria for the TAFP Physician of the Year award requires that candidates be compassionately dedicated to their patients; active in their communities; and act as a credible, invaluable role model as a professional in the science and art of medicine. The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is honored to name Dr. Kaparaboyna Kumar the 2016 Family Physician of the Year.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.