

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Kate Alfano Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 16 <u>kalfano@tafp.org</u>

Tricia Elliott, M.D., sworn in as TAFP parliamentarian

AUSTIN, TEXAS — Tricia C. Elliott, M.D., F.A.A.F.P., of Galveston, Texas, was sworn in as parliamentarian of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians during the 63rd Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Austin. Dr. Elliott assumed her duties July 14 at the annual Installation of Officers and Awards Lunch.

Dr. Elliott is the Director of the University of Texas Medical Branch Family Medicine Residency Program. She also serves UTMB's Department of Family Medicine as an Associate Professor and as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs. She previously served as the Program Director of the Baylor College of Medicine/Kelsey-Seybold Clinic Family Medicine Residency Program in Houston.

She was awarded her medical degree at UTMB in Galveston and completed a family medicine residency at Montefiore Medical Center in the Bronx, N.Y. She received her undergraduate education at Rice University in Houston, Texas.

She is a fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians, and a member of the Harris County Academy of Family Physicians, the Society of Teachers in Family Medicine, the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors, and the American College of Physician Executives, the Medical Group Management Association, and Harris County Medical Society.

Dr. Elliott was awarded TAFP's 2011 TAFPPAC Award and 2008 Exemplary Teaching Award. She received the Leonard D. Moise Teaching Award from Baylor College of Medicine in 2008, the John R. Kelsey, Jr., M.D. Award for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching in 2008, and the Daniel C. Leicht, M.D. Award for Social Medicine for Outstanding Achievement in 2005.

Family physicians like Dr. Elliott are qualified to work in all major medical areas and trained to treat more than 90 percent of all cases they encounter. Family physicians care for patients of all ages.

During her year as TAFP parliamentarian, Dr. Elliott will work with other officers to lead the Academy: President Troy Fiesinger, M.D., of Sugar Land; President-elect Clare Hawkins, M.D., of Baytown; Vice President Ajay Gupta, M.D., of Austin; and Treasurer Dale Ragle, M.D., of Dallas. The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.

- 30 -