

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Kate Alfano Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 16 kalfano@tafp.org

TAFP installs 2012-2013 officers

AUSTIN, TEXAS — The Texas Academy of Family Physicians installed the 2012-2013 officers during the 63rd Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Austin on July 14.

President – Troy Fiesinger, M.D.

Dr. Fiesinger is a faculty member for the Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program in Sugar Land, Texas. Previously he served as medical director of the Lone Star Family Health Center in Conroe and assistant professor at the Conroe Family Medicine Residency. He earned his medical degree at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas, and completed his family medicine residency at the East Carolina University School of Medicine in Greenville, N.C.

President-elect – Clare Hawkins, M.D.

Dr. Hawkins is the program director of the San Jacinto Methodist Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program in Baytown, Texas. He is board-certified in family medicine and palliative medicine, and holds a master's degree in Community Health Science. Dr. Hawkins was awarded his medical degree from the University of Manitoba, and completed residency in Winnipeg, Canada at St. Boniface Hospital. He became a faculty member shortly after completing residency and became program director at St. Boniface. In 1998 he relocated to Baytown.

Vice President – Ajay Gupta, M.D.

Dr. Gupta is a partner with Jefferson Street Family Practice in Austin, Texas. He was awarded his medical degree by the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and completed his postgraduate medical training with the Corpus Christi Family Medicine Residency Program and Memorial Hospital in Corpus Christi. He is an associate professor of family medicine for both UTHSCSA and the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston.

Treasurer – Dale Ragle, M.D.

Dr. Ragle practices family medicine with the group Dallas Family Doctors in Dallas, Texas. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, Texas, and completed his post-graduate training at the Baytown Family Medicine Residency Program affiliated with University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Houston.

Parliamentarian – Tricia Elliott, M.D.

Dr. Elliott is the director of the University of Texas Medical Branch Family Medicine Residency Program in Galveston. She also serves UTMB's Department of Family Medicine as an associate professor and as vice chair for clinical affairs. She previously served as the program director of the Baylor College of Medicine/Kelsey-Seybold Clinic Family Medicine Residency Program in Houston.

Immediate Past President – I.L. Balkcom IV, M.D.

Dr. Balkcom is a physician with the Medical-Surgical Clinic in Sulphur Springs, Texas. He was awarded an A.S. degree in Biology by Andrew College in Cuthbert, Ga., and was awarded a medical degree by La Autonoma De Guadalajara, Mexico, and Ross University, Portsmouth, West Indies.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.